2021 faculty award winners

The winners of ANUs 2021 Faculty Instructional Excellence Award

Three members of the ANU faculty – Tonya Peak, Pamela Hooper, and Wendy Notz – have been named the winners of our Semi-Annual Faculty Instructional Excellence Award of 2021. Each year program chairs, deans, and direct managers undergo the nomination process, seeking individuals who embody ANU’s values. They must display a commitment to teaching and to their students; an engaging, encouraging, active teaching approach to ensure students are intellectually stimulated; the ability to effectively communicate with students; and a positive, lasting impact on students. Earning this award is how we recognize members of the faculty who embody these ANU values.


Tonya Peak

Tonya’s experience teaching in the online educational environment spans over 21 years of continuous involvement. She is currently a general education instructor, teaching the online math courses, and has professional experience as a staff accountant in a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) firm. Initially an online education student herself, upon her graduation in 2005 with a Master of Business Administration (MBA), she decided to begin teaching them. Tonya enjoys teaching students who are seeking to achieve their education goals, regardless of previous educational experience.



Pamela Hooper

Pamela Hooper Head ShotPamela is an instructor in the information technology programs. Enjoying 19 successful years instructing and mentoring students, she strives to assist and encourage students in finding academic success. She is always engaging students in her classes by staying up to date with best practices in instructional design, information technology, and instruction.

Pamela graduated from the University of Texas with a Bachelor of Arts in Music Theory and later a Master of Information Technology from Virginia Tech. She hopes to begin doctoral studies in adult learning and higher education in the near future.




Wendy Notz

Teaching for 11 years and having over 25 years of legal experience, Wendy, the dean and department chair of the paralegal studies program, is the third and final recipient of this award. Known to go above and beyond for her students, she gives in-depth explanations to all student questions and even going so far as to pick up the phone during time off. She does all this and more to ensure their mastery of the course material. She earned a Bachelor of Science in psychology, paralegal certificate, and law degree (juris doctorate).

Translate »